poem by Rolf Krogsæther


earth relationship

poem by Norge

Rolf K. – Artist, worker of metal, writer of poems
05:09 PM on 12/04/2011

Hand Made in the Wilderness

one first gathers raw materials
of woods, bones, leaves of remaining waste

bits of ivory, an old walrus tusk
mamoth buried from the last deep freeze
among the newly revealed stones
with the new melt down of ice

one gathers raw materials for dedication
to this 2000 year old tradition, the giving,
the giving from the heart, the earth
from which all has come, to which all will return

one first gathers raw materials
from the wilderness
objects disgarded by the last feeders

construction sites with recycling containers
holdings of wood, wires, metals of steel, copper, brass and silver

in the stillness of a quiet place
reflect about the receiver
about hope, values, dreams and asperations

with the use of ones’ hands
sculpting with love, embelishing ones’ heart
for the receivers hands

raw materials from the earth
from our home made new

a jewel to grace the neck lines,
a small hand for scratching
that impossible place between the shoulder blades

a ring of hammered silver
for the childs’ finger

a 24 inch shoe horn of brass
finely polished for grandmothers’ tree

sculture piece of abstract form
to adorn a son or daughters’ room

from the recycling of 50 years
we make it new, we give the valueless
value

instilled from the heart
that which will remain
long after we have departed
this planet, on the far side
of the milky way galaxy

from the human heart
value is returned to the valueless.

Rolf Krogsæther copyright 2011

*****************************

Poem found here, in the comments section:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/dr-judith-rich/holiday-shopping_b_1114402.html

(Any typos in the original work have been left intact
out of respect for the artist/author,
for it is not up to me to even TRY to “correct”
such a deeply sincere and meaningful piece of work.)

be the candle

Namaste, Mr. Krogsæther.

Today, I am honored to be your mirror.

May your holidays be blessed.

8 Comments

  1. December 7, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Thank you for this beautiful tribute to Norge! I’m sure his widow will be pleased to see this. Yes, he passed away very suddenly earlier this year and we are left with the gifts of his poetry that continue to bless us. Knowing that he is no longer with us makes his words even more poignant.

    Like

  2. wiccanwoman said,

    December 7, 2012 at 11:39 am

    Dr. Rich:

    My eyes are full of tears. I had no idea. I have missed “meeting” a kindred spirit, but nevertheless was drawn to him and his work.

    I subscibed to your blog this morning, and would be honored if you would read and comment on mine from time to time. It seems we may have some deep feelings in common. It was only yesterday I discovered you, and have already “shared” three or four of your entries with special friends on FaceBook.

    Thank you for sharing this with his widow. I hope it provides a warm and loving memory of the gifted man who was her husband.

    With much gratitude, and in never-ending wonder at how the Universe turns, I wish you a warm and blessed Yule season and a prosperous and joyful New Year.

    ~ WiccanWoman (a/k/a Belinda*)

    Like

  3. December 13, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    Wiccanwoman,

    Thank you for this heartfelt tribute, and I know that Norge would have enjoyed it too. I knew him and his gift in life far too briefly, yet I felt close to his soul, appreciated the warmth of his talented heart, and drew inspiration from his writings; I miss him from that time.

    Please take the time to visit on the Huffington Post site (huffpost.com) where many of us gather at Dr. Rich’s “Wisdom Well” as we call it. Rolf was a frequent visitor, and gifted us often with his talent, his wisdom, and his heart. You too are welcome!

    Lawson Meadows

    Like

    • wiccanwoman said,

      December 14, 2012 at 5:56 am

      Lawson… I am honored by your visit to my humble blog, and that you would invite me into such precious space. Dr. Rich has told me about the Well, and I hope to visit from time to time. Namaste.

      Like

  4. Rob said,

    May 22, 2014 at 7:24 pm

    Hi Rolf!

    I lost your address but found this blog. Let me know of your whereabouts!

    Robbie Vinnedge

    Like

  5. Arnhild Almås said,

    September 2, 2014 at 4:34 pm

    Wow, I’m just sitting here googling Rolf, my husband, to see if his name will pop up. I’m his widow:). Thank you for sharing and appreciating his poems. He was very gifted, he was different, he was not an a-frame type, but profoundly dedicated to poetry and art, an intellectual, rich man. I miss talking with him, my soul mate:). Arnhild

    Like

    • wiccanwoman said,

      September 2, 2014 at 4:40 pm

      Arnhild, I am honored that you have come by my humble space. Although I never knew your husband, I came to appreciate his work. Now that you have described him, I know I would have appreciated him as a man. I hope that you will continue to keep in touch with me. May you be blessed!

      Like

      • Arnhild Almås said,

        October 12, 2014 at 6:07 pm

        Thank you for your nice reply. May you be blessed as well!

        Like


Leave a Reply

