WaRnInG… when I am…


When I am a Crone, I shall wear my pentacle,
With dangling earrings that tickle my shoulders, and suit me just fine.
And I shall spend my savings on books and charity and wine,
And say we’ve no time to waste, and still fight against iniquity.

I shall sit at peace whenever I wish should my load grow heavy,
And reach out to my Goddess, and she shall give me the strength to go on.
I’ll push the tummies of dozens of stuffed animals to make them sing at once
And leap with abandon onto displays of beds with cushy pillows in the stores,
Laughing until the tears come, and smiling at those watching me, wishing they could do the same.

I shall go out naked in the rain to dance in the dark in my garden,
Caressed by the fragrant rosemary and lavender and patchouli,
And affirm it matters not how old I am, or what I weigh, or if my hair is grey –
Because my Goddess loves me, and I smell wonderful.

I can wear socks with patterns that don’t match my cape,
And eat three pounds of chocolate if I wish,
Or only water, almonds and apples for a week,
And hoard beads and charms and purring cats, and be called eccentric.

Still, we must have our homes, and clothes to keep us warm and dry,
And pay our bills on time, and keep our word of honor,
And so set good examples for our children
By being the best Daughters of the Goddess we can be, every day.

There is no need for me to practice at this, though…
As I have made my way and am proud of who I’ve become,
And people who know me are never too shocked and surprised by what I do,
Because they know me as a Crone, and I proudly wear my pentacle.

self portrait

 self-portrait – January 25, 2012

* * *

With thanks for the inspiration and apologies for the mangling to

Jenny Joseph, who is authoress of “Warning” –

http://www.wheniamanoldwoman.com/pages/348544/index.htm

6 Comments

  1. Betty Dillon said,

    January 25, 2012 at 10:25 am

    Love your blog, you must have been watching me… Love you

    Like

  2. Debi Bliss said,

    January 25, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    I just wanted you to know, I absolutely love your blog and these last two in particular. Love and light, Debi. )0(

    Like

  3. tezza4 said,

    January 26, 2012 at 1:08 am

    Love your blog TJ. Keep ’em coming!

    Like

  4. Angelique Autumn said,

    January 28, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    Yes, I am embracing that Crone! And it is beautiful! I am not fully there yet (I haven’t laid on beds in JC Penny’s); but I don’t worry about how I look as much as I did. I will go shopping without my make-up on even tho’ my mom won’t go with me. I will dress as I want and I will love the best that I can. I will acknowledge that this body of almost 60 years has been in battles and so the scars and woundedness is apparent in much of what I do and say these days because I am no longer having to hide in the shadows and be the brave, happy go lucky, girl! I can be mad when I want, sad, happy, etc. when it is there! And I can do this while setting boundaries and making sure that I care about how what I do and say impacts others. Thank you once again for reminding me what it means to embrace Crone! And I too am wearing my pentacle proudly! Love you!

    Like

  5. Angelique Autumn said,

    January 28, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    PS: I have copied this and it is hanging on the wall by my computer. And I love this picture of you!

    Like

  6. Kim aka Mumtaz said,

    January 13, 2013 at 9:37 am

    Lovely, my sisterwoman ❤ please email me if you can, I would love the opportunity to chat with you 1:1 🙂

    brightest blessings to you and your wonderful family! )O(

    Kim

    Like


Leave a Reply

