Why I choose to say “Happy Holidays”


 

A status message is making the rounds on Facebook… “Just a friendly reminder, you aren’t going to get arrested or anything for saying “Merry Christmas… it won’t kill you to keep the ‘reason’ in the ‘season’…” etc.  Please remember that there are people who live in this free country along with you that do not celebrate the same holidays as you. It won’t kill you either to offer or receive the sincere greeting “Happy Holidays.” I choose to offer that particular greeting because I want ALL my friends and neighbors – whether Pagan, Jewish, Christian, Buddhist, Hindu, Muslim, and yes, even Agnostic and Atheist – to know that I care that they have a wonderful Winter Holiday Season.I am not closed-minded to the fact everyone deserves to feel as happy as I feel at this time of year. I wish to spread the JOY but NOT the judgement. Personally, If I am 100% certain of a person’s beliefs, I will offer them best wishes using the name of their special holiday (“I hope you have a Happy Hannukah” – etc.). Very often, they thank me and then try to do the same for me, knowing I am a militant out-of-the-broom-closet Pagan/Wiccan. And you know what? There is no harm done in ASKING what someone prefers as you shake their hand. Some will ask me, “Happy Yule, is it?” – that brings a great smile to my face, and makes me feel listened-to and appreciated. There are numerous clients at my law office and it’s impossible to know their specifics. They feel respected and happy that I would care to ask, should they happen to stop by my office to share a moment of seasonal fellowship.So, on that note, I hope you don’t take offense at the words I use to communicate my sincere friendship this time of year should I happen to wish you HAPPY HOLIDAYS, when no offense is meant.  And yes… for me and my household, it is Yule… Yuletide… the Winter Solstice, a traditional Celtic fire-festival which celebrates the return of the light following the longest night of the year… and the battle between the Oak King and the Holly King. 

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/special_report/for_christmas/_new_year/pagan_christmas/37276.stm


Lovely blog entry by Danu’s Daughter (2010) –
http://danudaughter.blogspot.com/2010/12/make-this-yule-your-own-sacred-sabbat.html

Random history links –
http://www.randomhistory.com/2008/11/21_christmas.html
http://didyouknow.org/christmas/history/

Info on the Yule log –
http://www.noelnoelnoel.com/trad/yulelog.html

A lovely tradition – make a Yule log with your children – blog and photos by Jonah Lisa Dyer –
http://www.jonahlisadyer.com/2008/12/yule-log-tutorial.html

Some links – by Christians for Christians – as to why Christmas is a Pagan holiday, and not to be celebrated –
http://www.circlegame.com/live/feast.htm
http://www.atruechurch.info/wrongxmas.html
http://www.atruechurch.info/xmasletter.html

Christmas is multi-cultural –
http://www.humanreligions.info/christmas.html

4 Comments

  1. Diane Margaret said,

    November 27, 2011 at 9:42 am

    I am so enjoying reading your blog!!

    I wish everyone could read this blog especially. It is just being polite to wish someone a Happy Holiday unless you know their beliefs. I just don’t understand why everyone can’t see that…..

    Like

  2. Dravite said,

    November 30, 2011 at 3:29 am

    It amuses me how they say “HE is the REASON for the SEASON”, when really, he is not. Yule was celebrated long before the birth of Christ, and in Scandinavia, Yule (or Jul, but it’s pronounced almost the same) was certainly celebrated long before people were threatened into Christianity, and even after that, people would secretly celebrate Yule.

    Like

  3. FeistyAmazon said,

    December 4, 2011 at 6:23 am

    Yule/Winter Solstice and Chanukah are mine. I’ve never been Christian, I’ve always had to resist the pressure of Xmas every year from day one, and I don’t want people saying ‘he is the reason for the season’ or even “Merry Christmas” to me(unless it’s actually on Xmas day and I happen to be at a Christmas party I was invited to), but I know this is a campaign by the right wing xtians to shame everybody, ESPECIALLY salesclerks and stores, to NOT be inclusive and say “Happy Holidays”, but to say “Merry Christmas” instead, cuz of course the poor xtians are so put upon and ‘oppressed’ by all the diversity happening and their holiday is getting completely forgotten about, and they no longer have their overwhelming xtian dominance over everybody anymore…..

    But yes, both Chanukah and especially Yule/Solstice are very old holidays. Judaism is 5700 years old, and Solstice has occurred since the beginning of the Earth and early humanity…the rebirth of the Sun, which is the REAL ‘reason for the season’. Just looking at all those ancient rock structures created as solar and lunar observatories created by the Neo lithic peoples to commemorate that exact moment on the exact day of Solstice or Equinox is extremely powerful…..
    -In Sisterhood,
    -FeistyAmazon

    Like

  4. FeistyAmazon said,

    December 4, 2011 at 6:25 am

    Both are holidays of Light….

    Like


Leave a Reply

