Bounty


These photos show a display of the bounty I purchased this morning from the local Farmers’ Market.  This is their last day for the year.

As the Thanksgiving holiday draws near, I am humbly grateful for the talent of others who grow this food for my family and me. Cabbage… red, white, gold and candycane beets… purple, orange and white carrots… cauliflower (both white, and purple! – cross-bred with red cabbage!)… multicolored Swiss chard… butternut squash… bread… pumpkin butter, apple butter, low-sugar raspberry syrup and mango preserves… salad mix… shallots.  I am honored to pay them for their labors, and their goods. 

I have food… a warm, comfortable home… a job… investments… family… friends.  I surely am blessed, and give my word to pass along those blessings to others in need, every chance I get.

May the Goddess bless you all.

7 Comments

  1. Takabi said,

    November 19, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Oh that looks wonderful AND local!!! That purple caulibage alone LOL!!!

    Like

  2. Angelique Autumn said,

    November 19, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    How did I miss that you have a blog? Pictures are fabulous as is the display! I have mixed feelings this year about Thanksgiving. As we wallow in our abundance, are we taking the opportunity to feed our brothers and sisters? My sister is inviting 16 people to her house on Thursday and is stressing over whether we will have enough food. She has assigned food items to everyone, but keeps adding more dishes. Somehow this year, I want to stay home! But alas, I will go and be thankful for the food we do have, and for family and friends! Thank you for your Spirit and beautiful words! Namaste!

    Like

  3. November 19, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Merry Merry day my sweets, it’s cold out. Snow is on it’s way, any day. We will go out to play. I’m sure it will stay, till, I hope not till MAY. A-OK… have a wonderful day… From Arisawe = Elizabeth in Mohawk

    Like

  4. Rocky said,

    November 19, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    It looks amazing, especially the pumpkin butter!

    Like

  5. Beck P said,

    November 19, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    MMM looks amazing! You are so lucky to have such wonderful local things to buy! It is wonderful to be able to buy produce grown by someone who has tended the plants with love and care!! It really comes through in the taste! Blessings and Love

    Like

  6. Bianca Tyler said,

    November 22, 2011 at 8:52 am

    They look yummy! Buying from the local farmers market allows the farmer to continue to farm and to continue to bring you veggies grown with love. Love truely inhances the flavor. When you buy from a local farmer you help insure that he will be able to continue to bring you these most wonderful fruits of our Mother. Its just a winning proposition for all.

    Like

  7. AprilDAwn said,

    November 29, 2011 at 9:16 am

    Everything looks wonderful!!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

